Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll

Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll

Nominations for the 2019 Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll are officially open. There are currently 107 outstanding Aboriginal Victorians on the Honour Roll who have made a profound contribution to their community and to Victoria. We are encouraging everyone to share and honour the stories of more Aboriginal Victorians who have dedicated their lives to their community by submitting a nomination online -

The Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll recognises the achievements of Aboriginal Victorians, both past and present, who have made a profound contribution to their community and to Victoria. Inductees have dedicated their lives to helping others and giving back to their community, while fighting for self-determination and equality. Reconciliation Victoria encourages Victorians to become familiar with and share the inspirational stories and achievements of all inductees on the Roll.

We’re proud that the tireless efforts of long time Reconciliation Victoria Council members John Baxter and Vicki Clark have been acknowledged as they were inducted into the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll in 2016 and 2017, respectively.

2018 Aboriginal Honour Roll Inductees

Nine new inductees for 2018 were announced at a ceremony on October 10, taking the total number of inductees to over 100.

The new inductees for 2018 were:

Ben 'Lanky' Manton (1841-1929)
Norman McDonald (1925-2002)
Johnny Lovett
Graham 'Bootsie' Thorpe
Jacqui Stewart
Geraldine Atkinson
Barb Gibson-Thorpe
Terry Garwood
Cherie Marie Waight (1962-2014)

More information about the 2018 Inductees can be found here.

Past Inductees:








We respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the lands and waters of Victoria.

Join us
Sign up here for our monthly eNews!
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.