Exciting times ahead for RecVic

Exciting times ahead for RecVic

RecVic is excited to share with you our proposal for some significant changes to the way we work, creating a structure for Aboriginal people to guide our work that better reflects our commitment to self-determination and our guiding principles.

We have reviewed the way our organisation works, talked about the weight of the cultural load carried by the Aboriginal Council members, and talked about the diverse voices of Aboriginal people around Victoria who we want to engage with and be guided by.

In response, we are proposing the following changes:

·      Establish a Knowledge Council of Aboriginal people to guide Reconciliation Victoria’s engagement across the range of contextual issues. The Knowledge Council will be invited to come to a campfire with the RecVic Board and CEO, to provide direction and guidance to the organisation.  The Knowledge Council concept will be developed further with input from interested Aboriginal people from across the state. 

·      Transition from the existing Rec Vic Council to a skills-based Board, retaining the aspiration of 50% Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal members with an Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal Co-Chair. We are proposing that the Board be elected from members at the AGMand that we actively ‘recruit’ board members with skills and competencies through an EOI process, rather than via the representational categories as required in our current rules. The Board will govern the organisation and will be guided by the Knowledge Council in setting the agenda and direction for the organisation.

·      Update our Rules to reflect these changes, and to simplify and modernise them, while retaining our Purposes [formerly ‘Objects’].

We will be calling a Special General Meeting (SGM) of our members to seek adoption of the new rules immediately preceding the AGM on October 27th.  We will be circulating an EOI for potential Board members shortly, and an invitation to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to discuss the establishment of the Knowledge Council.

We are excited to share these plans with you and look forward to continuing to walk with you along the path towards just and respectful relationships between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and all Victorians.

Expressions of Interest

We are looking for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people of all ages from across Victoria to lodge an expression of interest to join our Board for 2019.

We are looking for people with skills and experience in one or more of the areas of Governance, Human Resource Management, Finance, Law, Policy and Advocacy, Strategic Thinking/Planning, Social Enterprise, Local Government, Community Development, Education, Philanthropy, Communications/Marketing, Aboriginal Affairs. Please see further information here.

If you would like more information or an expression of interest form please email info@reconciliationvic.org.au or phone 03 9016 0657.

Expressions of interest are due 27th September, and we will contact all those who express interest.

We respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the lands and waters of Victoria.

Join us
Sign up here for our monthly eNews!
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.